Draft Dope: John Barr, Scott Woodward, Ryan Terry, Brendon Kelliher, Glen Misho, Doug Shribman

One of the featured series last weekend pitted 8th ranked Clemson hosting 6th ranked Virginia. Virginia fought back Saturday night for an 8-7 win, featuring a 2-5, 2-R game from senor leftfielder John Barr. Barr stressed team when I asked him how his game went:

 
“It was a great team win today. In a tough environment like Clemson being down and able to come back is a great confidence booster for us and gives us a lot of momentum going into tomorrow.”

 
Through 16 games, Barr is hitting .265/.300/.339, with four dubles and nine runs batted in.

 
………………………………………………………….

 
Coastal Carolina (11-5) senior Scott Woodward led the way in Sunday’s 5-3 victory over UAB (8-6). Scott’s stat line was impressive: DH 3-4, 1-R, 1-RBI, 1-SB, .346. I asked him if he’s been doing omething special lately:

 
“I was just doing what I normally do, just trying to get on base for my teammates to hit me in. I started the game off on the right foot being more aggressive than I have been in previous games. I tend to be a little passive starting off the game, but today I was more aggressive. This season has been going very well for me so far. The team has been coming together recently, and hopefully it continues to be that way for the rest of the season.”

 
The 6-2, 200 pound Woodward hails from Norwell High School, in Markie, Indiana. He entered this year as the all-time career CCU leader in OBS (.502).

 
He was drafted in the 15th rounf of the 2010 draft, by the Oakland A’s, but chose to return to CCU. for his senior year. Trust me, his teammates are thrilled with that decision.

 
…………………………………………………………………………
30th ranked Monmouth (4-6) finally beat Rutgers (6-8) Sunday, 3-2, at the Keith LeClair Classic, in Greenville, South Carolina. Monmouth scored first, in the second inning, when senior 2B Ryan Terry singled in CF Josh Boyd. Terry wound up going 2-5 in the game and was thilled with the team victory:

 
“I hope you enjoyed the good baseball in Greenville this weekend. I very happy with the way the season has started both for me and the team. For the first time in a couple years we have a very solid bullpen which has given us the ability to close out games. We had a couple of tough losses to ECU and Liberty, both scores 4-3, but I think we showed a lot of poise in those games. I think we have gotten off on the right foot and there are good things to come. The game today was great! We were on the wrong side of two one run games the previous two days and coming out on top today was huge. We had the bats ready early, but just couldn’t muster that extra hit to break it open. As I explained earlier, our bullpen has done a magnificent job all season, and Dan Smith held Rutgers hitters at bay throughout his 6 innings. Today was an overall team effort, pitchers came up big in big situations, we made plays in pressure situations, and hitters got the job done. As for myself, I have gotten off to a slow start statistically which in years past would be disheartening. I have been taking good swings and making hard contact and vs. Rutgers that all came together for me. I was locked into a zone and when the pitch was in that zone I made sure that I was ready for it. I know come May my numbers will be much different than they are now. I’m a huge competitor so beating Rutgers, our in-state rival, feels great and I’m glad i could contribute offensively to our winning effort.”
……………………………………………………..

 
George Washington (5-9) senior leadoff CF, Brendon Kelliher, also led his team to a 13-8 win Sunday against Binghamton (2-7-1) 8. Kelliher sacrificed in a run, went 4-6 from the plate, doubled, went yard, and drove in three while scoring three more. Brendon was very proud of his team’s victory:

 
“It was nice to finally see some baseballs jumping off the new BBCOR bats. Our team is suffering putting the ball out of the park considering those were our first two home runs this season in 12 games. I was seeing the ball well today and was able to work some counts in my favor and put good swings on some pitches. I noticed today I was not missing good pitches to hit which I feel has been a big contributor to my early success this year. As far as the season, we got off to a good start and then began to struggle over the next 7-8 games. We have a lot of young talent on the mound and in the field so gaining more and more experience every day can only boost their confidence for the rest of the season. A-10 games are around the corner so we have a couple more weeks to get in shape and play our best baseball as we start league play.”

 
We first came across Kelliher when he played summer ball for the Newport (RI) Gulls of the New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL), where he was named Defensive Player of the Year . He also hit ,291, with 3-HR, 20-RBI, 44-H, 23-R, 21-BB.

 
…………………………………………………………………..

Massachusetts (1-5) Glen Misho tossed a complete game Saturday against Toledo (4-10). Stats: 9.0-IP, 1-R, 8-H, 8-K, 2-BB. Misho was happy with it also:

 
“I feel like we looked good today and it was good to get our first win. My defense played great behind me especially my infield. I can’t give them enough credit for the win. I feel like my stuff was on today and, especially with these new bats, throwing strikes is very important. Our season is not going bad at all. Last weekend we lost a couple tough games, but I felt like we made a lot of strides as a team to make us better.”

…………………………………………………………………

 

1B Doug Shribman led his Bucknell (5-7) team Sunday to a 5-1 victory against Air Force (6-9). Shribman went 2-5, scored a run, and had one run batted in after going yard. Doug was ecstatic:


“I am very happy with the result,” said Shribman. “Finally the team was able to put a complete game together and I’m just happy to be able to contribute to that with my couple hits. I am also happy with how my season is going so far, especially with my power numbers using these new bats. The batting average isn’t as high as it should be but I’mconfident I can get it back up with another couple good games. “


Interesting. He almost made it sound like the new bats were helping develop power.


Almost.

Leave a Reply

