Draft Dope: Anthony Rendon, Dylan Bundy, George Piccirilli, Nick Loredo, Ricky Jacquez, Hunter Scantling, Joe Zwierzynski, Matt Gotschall

Warning… warning… I’m not sure America is noticing that the number one projected pick in the 2011 draft hasn’t played his position yet. At some point, Anthony Rendon is going to have to show us that he’s cured from last year’s injury.

……………………………………………………..
-We updated the composite Mock Draft earlier this week and once again there are some players on the move:

Ups:

RHP Jose Fernandez looks like a lock for a first round pick, and has been ranked as high as the 9th pick overall in a February mock draft

RHP Anthony Meo’s value continues to rise; however, no mock draft has come out since Tony’s miserable opening outing. He has since bounced back, but it will take another month to see if he can hold up as a first rounder.

LHP Tyler Anderson is now a consistent late first round pick.

C Andrew Susac has now become the only possible first round catcher pick, other than Blake Swihart.

The move of Hawaii’s Kolton Wong from the outfield to second base has made him the consistent first round pick he wasn’t as an outfielder… which is really strange.

SS Francisco Linder keeps improving his ranking and may turn out to be a top 10 pick.

No mock draft in February or March has ranked 3B Anthony Rendon below the 2nd pick in the draft. Most have him 1st.

OFer Josh Bell and Brian Goodwin are shooting up the rankings.

 

Downs:

The excitement of drafting RHP Austin Woods seems to have calmed down and he currently projects out as a late 1st round pick.

RHPs Logan Verrett and Jack Armstrong have not been picks on the last five mock drafts that covered only the top 33 picks in the first round.

 
Both LHPs Bryan Harper and Taylor Wall have fallen off the mock boards.

C Peter O’Brien is no longer being mocked in the first round and looks like a mid-range second now.

1B Preston Tucker currently isn’t a first round pick anymore, though that might be due to others exciting the pundits more than any decline in Tucker’s ability. Frankly, he’s just about exclusively playing in the outfield now.

2B wise, Brett Harrison, and John Schwind have fallen off the draft boards.

……………………………………..

 
I spoke briefly with Owasso (OK) igh School’s Dylan Bundy about how his season is going so far:

“Things have been going well”, said Bundy. “I have only thrown in one game, but it was good. We play in Florida this week and I will be on the mound Friday. Then again the next Thursaday in a tournament we are playing. I lit it up pretty good in first outing. Little anxious to get at it again.”

Right now, I have Bundy as the 7th RHP taken in the draft and the 16th pick overall; however, the Mets are welcome to pick him 13th.

…………………………………….

 
VMI went to 7-6 Tuesday night with an 8-2 win against 30th ranked James Madison, behind junior 1B George Piccirilli, who contributed stats of: 2-5, 1-R, 1-RBI. I asked George how his game went, and young season is going:

 

“Today was a big win for us against a really good ball club. We are starting to find our swings here and hoping this win propels us into our first Big South conference weekend coming up. So far this season I have been seeing the ball really well and I’m glad I can be contributing to the team the way I am right now and looking forward to stick to the plan as the season continues.”

 

Picc plays 2B, 1B and DH’s and played summer ball for the Herndon Braves of the Cal Ripken League.
………………………………………

Had a chance to converse with UC Santa Barbara pitcher Nick Loredo after their Tuesday 3-2 win against USC. He was thrilled with the results of both the game and his performance in it:

 
“Thanks for watching today, and I am pretty pleased with the season so far. It is still early and i really feel that our team can compete with anyone out there. As for me, I am just starting to head in the right direction. My arm feels great and I’m very pleased with the pitches I have been able to make in critical situations. It’s a good start to a hopefully great season. Look forward to seeing the gaucho’s do big things this year!”

Nick went to 2-0 this young season, after going 7.1-IP, 2-ER, 5-K, and 0-BB.

………………………………………….
So, how are the high school kids doing… well Franklin (TX.) High School’s RHP Ricky Jacquez pitched seven innings on Tuesday. That’s 21 outs. He had 20 strike outs and the other out was a pick off. A few days before that, Jacquez struck out 16 in 7.0-IP. That’s a two game total of 36-K in 14.0-IP.
……………………………………….


Florida State continued their winning ways Wednesday, beating Maine, 9-3, and going 12-1 for the year. Junior RHP Hunter Scantling went 5.0-IP, giving up 0-ER and striking out three. Scantling was very happy with his outing:

“It felt great out there today”, said Scantling. “I just wanted to be efficient with my pitches and I felt like I was. I really got my change-up working today and that helped me out a lot. It is a long season and I am very excited to see where it takes the team and I feel like I have done everything that has been asked of me so far this season and will continue to try and do so.”


…………………………………………..

I also checked in with Michigan State middle reliever Joe Zwierzynski who posted 2.1-IP, 0-R, 2-H, 3-K, 0-BB in their Wednesday win against Miami of Ohio. Joe’s emphasis was on the team:


“I thought it was a good team win. Our offense got us the momentum early and we continued to play good defense as we have all season. I think as a team we are happy with our start, but we’re not getting complacent. We’re still working hard to improve each day.”


………………………………………….

One of the better Tuesday outings was by Penn’s Matt Gotschall (8.0-IP, 1-R, 2-H, 8-K, 3-BB) in their 9-5 win against Georgetown. Matt was happy to get his first win of the season:


“Thanks for the compliment on the game today. It felt great to get out there and have some success. Much of the credit from the game today goes to the defense who backed me up with a bunch of great plays. As far as my season, I am happy to go out and get a win in my first start, but mainly I am just glad to be able to help the team in any way that I can to help us get wins.”

Leave a Reply

