Draft Dope: – Jared Strayer, Scott Lyman, Evan Mistich, Corey Latrell, Kyle Kubitza, Daniel Palka, Steven Proscia

Big bummer prospect news… LHP Brett Mooneyham will miss the remainder of the 2011 season after surgery on his finger. Seems he cut his left middle finger in January. Mooneyham has had a hard time holding up on the mock drafts as a first rounder before this and I’m sure things will really go to hell for him now. Look for a return to the college team next year for Brett.

 

 
As of this week, the top five right hand pitchers in the composite mock drafter are: 1. UCLA’s Gerrit Cole, 2. TCU’s Taylor Jungmann, 3. Vanderbilt’s Sonny Gray, 4. Broken Arrow (Ok.) H.S. Archie Bradley and 5. Connecticut’s Matt Barnes. Moving quickly up the charts and into the top 10 RHPs are Coastal Carolina’s Anthony Meo, Alonzo (FL.) H.S.’s Jose Fernandez, and Alhambra (CA.) H.S.’s Robert Stephenson.

 
Another fast riser on the mock draft lists is The University of Oregon’s LHP Tyler Anderson. Anderson has been mentioned in six of the last seven mock drafts, including four 1st round picks. He pitched an opening day loss against Hawaii with stats of: 6.0-IP, 1-ER, 3-K, 4-BB.
 

 

The recent decision to play Vanderbilt’s Jason Esposito at shortstop instead of third base seems to be working out so far. This easily would put him as the number one player at that position in the draft, though Francisco Linder is no slouch.

 
It was reported this week that Ohio State senior RHP Jared Strayer is out for the season with a broken arm… not true. Yes, he did break his… well… why not hear it from him… “took a line drive off of the arm, found out I broke it two days ago. Looking like an optimistic 4-5 weeks until I get back.”

 

 
Spoke with UC Davis’ SP Scott Lyman, who pitched against Sacramento State this past week. His stats were impressive: 7.0-IP, 1-ER, 4-K – 2-3, 1-BB: “Thank you appreciate it. Outing went well. Didn’t really have my good mid-90s fastball like usually. I was sitting 90-92 touch 94 but kept the same velo throughout the game. Change up and curve were solid early on. Commanded my fastball really well which is why I was successful besides a little slip up in the 2nd. Overall the results were good based on the stuff I had that day.”

 

 
Noticed that junior Bobby Buckner, son of former LAD Billy Buckner, is starting at 3B for Texas A&M – Corpus Christi…

 

 
Oklahoma’s 2B Evan Mistich is off to a killer start with a .733 BA and going 4-6-4. I asked him what he thought of the season so far: “The season is going great so far, we’re 5-0, playing good baseball and still have plenty room for improvement. This is a great team to be a part of and I’m thankful I’ve been giving the chance to help us win games. Last night’s game was really fun. We swung the bat well and were able to put up a lot of runs. I actually had no clue I broke a record until after the game when all the guys started congratulating me. As a hitter you want to get on base anyway possible and things fell into place for me last night. The guys hitting behind did a great job driving me in and the deserve most of the credit. Last night’s game really showed how deep of a ballclub we are. It’s just great being a part of such great program and hopefully our success will lead us back to Omaha.” – Keep an eye on this kid… should be rising up the mock draft lists real soon…

 
Kentucky’s Corey Latrell led his team to their second win of the season on Wednesday, against Eastern Michigan. I asked Corry how the game went and what he thought of his performance: “Today’s game was huge for us”, said Latrell. “It was the home opener so we wanted to make sure that we show our home fans that we are way better than what we did in Charleston. You have to remember that half our team is new, so we had to get a few games under our belt. Our offense and defense has gotten a whole lot better in the last two games. Also, we are starting to come together as unit. Today I felt like I had my good stuff, not my great stuff, but good stuff. I found my curveball which had been struggling the last couple of outings, so that was a plus and I was able to locate my fastball on both sides of the plate. I had a lot help from my fielders today and then the offense giving me the run support I needed. Overall, i am very pleased with my outing but i still need to get better.”
 

 

Texas State’s Kyle Kubitza did everything he could to beat the might Rice Owls, including a last inning grand slam. I asked Kyle: Come on… you gotta make my day, and my Friday draft column… by taking us through that wonderful grand slam at bat… Kubitza: Ha ha. I was just looking to put a good swing on something to keep the game going and get to the next guy. I knew he was having trouble locating his pitches towards the end so I figured he was gonna throw a fastball in there after going down 2-0 and just got lucky and ran into one.”

 

Georgia Tech’s Daniel Palka went 3-4, 1-HR against state rival Georgia Southern. I asked him to fill us in on his game:
Palka: Well. we came out hitting, but no runs got on the board until the third. Then in the third, I had a two out 3 run homerun. Then we got two more runs after Kyle Wren hit a single to left and scored DeAndre Smelter and Brandon Thomas. Then, in the eighth, Jake Davies had an RBI to put us up 6-4. I had a sac fly in the ninth for final score of 7 to 4, I finished the night 3-4 double single and homerun and sac fly and 4 RBIs. Matt Grimes pitched 5.1 innings letting up 4 runs off of 5 hits, then Conner Kendrick came in for two inning and Jake Esch closed the last inning”.

 

Virginia 3B Steven Proscia commented on his team’s Wednesday performance: “I am very happy with our team so far. I think we have shown great poise in all four games. Even though we were down majority of the game yesterday,y we still managed to find a way to win. That was a big confidence builder for our club.”

 

 

Heat update: Round Rock (Tx.) High School’s Travis Evans now sitting at 94, up from 91 last year…

Leave a Reply

