Q and A – OF – Joey August

Mack:

Morning everybody. Today, we’re talking with the Mets’ 20th round draft pick in the 2009 draft, outfielder Joey August. Good morning Joey. Are you back home in SoCal?

August:

Good morning, thanks for having me. I actually am all done with school and I am currently back home in Salem, Oregon. It’s really nice to be back in the northwest.

Mack:

Kewl. Joey, let’s go back to 2009 and the second day of the draft. Tell us what it was like to get drafted into professional baseball?

August:

It was an unbelievable feeling, I went through a surgery my junior year that kept me from getting drafted and there were times I didn’t think it would ever happen. I know it sounds cliche but this is something you dream about your whole life and to finally see your name next to a major league teams logo on that draft tracker was very exciting to say the least.

Mack:

Joey, I fully understand. Very few people ever get even that far.

Last season, you played in Savannah, but for whatever reasons, management slotted you in as a part time player. Tell the readers out there just how hard it is to put up numbers when you aren’t playing every day?

August:

It can be frustrating for sure, you would like to get consistent at bats to really show what you can do. But you’re not going to make it very far in this business if you complain every step up the way. Those were the cards I was dealt my first season and I just tried to be the best I could in that situation. I really believe I learned a lot from that situation and was able to use what I learned to make me a better player and a better person. You really find out what you’re made of through adversity like that.

Mack:

And you definitely became a better player this year for Lucy. In fact, you improved in every single offensive category. Anything different this year or was it just more at bats and myuch more practice and experience?

August:

I think getting more at bats and experience played a large part in my improvement. I also think this was the first year I really felt I could prepare for physically; I had back surgery two years ago and never really got back to where I wanted to be physically until this last off-season. I really think feeling good physically gave me a lot of confidence coming into this year and gave me a drive to try and prove myself.

Mack:

Joey, going to AA is a whole new experience. What are your goals for the 2011 season and what will you be doing in the off-season to help get ready for the spring?

August:

I would like to continue to prove myself as a hitter and an outfielder. I plan to continue to work hard in the weight room and in the cage to make sure I give myself every opportunity to have a very good productive year. I don’t like setting number goals, I have a good friend who plays as well who always tells me to just worry about preparing the best way you can and trust that the numbers come. You can sell yourself short with numbers, say you want to get 50 rbis but have a great first half of the year and do it in the first 70 games, are you just supposed to shut it down? So I have always tried to listen to his advice and just work hard in the off-season and prepare well and trust that the numbers will be there when it’s all said and done. Just worry about the stuff you can control I guess. So I guess I would say that my goal is to prove myself as a productive offensive threat and a quality defensive outfielder and let the chips fall where they may.

Mack:

Sounds pretty solid to me.

Joey, thank you and I wish you the best next season. I’ll see you in Florida in March.

August:

Sounds great, thanks a lot Mack.

2011 forecast: – It’s really tough to try and figure out at this point what the starting outfields will be. Eric Campbell will most likely play one of the Binghamton positions, and Carlos Guzman will be given a chance to win back his job that was interrupted by a season-ending injury. My guess is August will move on the the B-Mets, but primarily as the 4th outfielder/DH behind Pedro Zapata.

Leave a Reply

